söndag 18 juni 2017

HorrorCon UK promotion: "Win a signed copy of MR. MANIAC"

HorrorCon UK blogged:
"WIN A SIGNED COPY OF MR. MANIAC BY JOHAN FUNDIN":

https://www.horrorconuk.com/win-signed-copy-mr-maniac-johan-fundin/

A chance to win a signed copy of MR. MANIAC before general release on 28 June 2017.

söndag 9 april 2017

HorrorCon UK - Sheffield - 13-14 May 2017

HorrorCon UK is the massive horror convention held annually at Magna Science Adventure Centre in my home city Sheffield. Special Guests this year include Heather Langenkamp (A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET 1 & 3 & NEW NIGHTMARE), Sid Haig (HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES, THE DEVIL'S REJECTS) and John Jarratt (WOLF CREEK 1 & 2).

lördag 11 mars 2017

Michael Crichton's DRAGON TEETH

Another forthcoming posthumous novel from the great Michael Crichton. I can’t wait to read DRAGON TEETH. How many unpublished novels remain to be discovered on Crichton's computer?

This week I'm watching two films based on Michael Crichton novels: THE TERMINAL MAN and SPHERE.

fredag 10 mars 2017

The art of description

I’ve never been to Los Angeles, California. But it feels like I’ve been there. Richard Laymon brings me there, again and again—through his fantastic fiction. Reading books like COME OUT TONIGHT, QUAKE or BODY RIDES, I’m transported to L.A. Laymon simply does what the best of writers do: transporting the reader. It’s the art of description.

söndag 5 februari 2017

The publisher's advance information

The publisher's key-point information about Mr. Maniac:

"
A cross-genre suspense thriller with elements of horror, fantasy and science fiction

Combines a gripping and inventive plot with a host of colourful characters

Will appeal to fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz
"
- Troubador Publishing


lördag 31 december 2016

MR. MANIAC - my new suspense novel

A novelist gets lost in the zone between fiction and reality when real murders of young women appear copied from his latest, still unfinished manuscript.

Title: Mr. Maniac
Release date: 28 June 2017
Publisher: Troubador
ISBN: 978-1788035323
e-ISBN: 978-1788031448

Someone is murdering female students at a university in northern England. Among the victims is a Swedish girl. Kenneth Sorin, a chemical physics doctor and horror suspense novelist, starts his own murky murder investigation with the help of his cat and his new mysterious girlfriend. The girlfriend turns out to be a spy and secret agent for SCDX, a shadowy international law enforcement organisation. Meanwhile, Kenneth receives strange telephone calls: an old lady who died ten years ago phones the author from her grave, encouraging him to look inside himself for the truth. 

The tracks lead Kenneth to the world of science and mysticism, including a meeting with a professor in Paris. He discovers bizarre elements in his own fiction writing. In addition, he happened to meet the Swedish girl twice: the same evening she was stabbed to death, and a year earlier, in connection with a trip to Sweden. Could he be the killer himself? Is the author a psychotic fictional character who stepped out of his own book?



Mr. Maniac is more than a straight translation of the original Swedish-language edition. It's a reworked story, 25% longer than the Swedish original, features several new scenes and plot points. It's therefore, in many ways, a different, richer book.

tisdag 27 december 2016

Snapshot From the Vast Sea of Books #5

Some writers are unable to write a disappointing book. Such a writer is Bentley Little. His early book The Mailman is downright fantastic - one of my most memorable reading experiences 2016. Consider me a fan.